phone 409-292-DMT1
Michael Loeffelholz, Ph.D. D(ABMM)
DMT – Microbiology: Clinical & Financial Impact & Antibiotic Stewardship

Juan P. Olano, MD

Dr. Loeffelholz earned a Ph.D. in microbiology from Ohio University in 1987 and completed a post-doctoral fellowship in medical and public health microbiology at the University of Rochester in 1990, under the mentorship of Marilyn Menegus. Dr. Loeffelholz is currently Senior Director, Medical Affairs at Cepheid. Prior to that he was at the University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston for over a decade, as Professor in the Department of Pathology, Director of the Clinical Microbiology Laboratory, and Director of the Medical Microbiology Fellowship program. Prior to his tenure at UTMB, Dr. Loeffelholz held positions in public health and private reference laboratories. Dr. Loeffelholz has over 80 peer-reviewed publications and book chapters. He is Editor-in-Chief of the Clinical Virology Manual, 5th Edition, and an editor of the Journal of Clinical Microbiology. He currently serves as the Secretary/Treasurer of the Pan American Society for Clinical Virology. Dr. Loeffelholz has served on a number of committees at the national level, including the ASM Committee on Professional Affairs, CDC Board of Scientific Counselors/Office of Infectious Diseases, and the Association of Public Health Laboratories board of directors. He is a diplomate of the American Board of Medical Microbiology (ABMM).